How Do I Maintain a Teachable Spirit? via @johncmaxwell

5. Ask yourself, “Am I really teachable?”

I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating: all the good advice in the world won’t help if you don’t have a teachable spirit. To know whether you are really open to new ideas and new ways of doing things, ask yourself the following questions:

  1. Am I open to other people’s ideas?
  2. Do I listen more than I talk?
  3. Am I open to changing my opinion based on new information?
  4. Do I readily admit when I am wrong?
  5. Do I observe before acting on a situation?
  6. Do I ask questions?
  7. Am I willing to ask a question that will expose my ignorance?
  8. Am I open to doing things in a way I haven’t done before?
  9. Am I willing to ask for directions?
  10. Do I act defensive when criticized, or do I listen openly for truth?

If you answered no to one or more of these questions, then you have room to grow in the area of teachability. You need to soften your attitude, learn humility, and remember the words of John Wooden: “Everything we know we learned from someone else!”

Read more at johnmaxwellonleadership.com

 

About Brandon Cox

Brandon Cox is a Pastor, currently planting Grace Hills Church in northwest Arkansas and recently served as a Pastor at Saddleback Church. He continues to serve as Editor and Community Facilitator for Pastors.com and Rick Warren's Pastor's Toolbox.

Leave a Reply

